top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany Chaos

HAWKGIRL BUILD

Updated: Feb 8, 2019

Hawkgirl Cosplay Build

 

Hawkgirl | Helmet

Wrapped head to get patterns. Tested out patterns with paper. Then crafted helmet out of craft foam. Tip: I lined the forehead area with felt to keep from sweating. ( I add to have assistance with this part from Ally B Cosplay, I couldn't have been able to do this without her)


WINGS


I stated with the base structure making the moving components first.

Then attached the aluminum bars to a piece of plywood.

I placed craft paper on the ground, same size as my wings. While having my base on the floor I mapped out where I wanted my feathers to lay and how big I wanted them to be.


I crafted all the feathers out of craft foam.

The fronts of the feathers I placed shish kebab sticks. This was done to keep the feathers stiff.

The backs of the feathers I glue steel wire, which ran from the feathers to the aluminum bars.

After all the wire was attached I laid them out on my map. Then drilled holes on the aluminum bars then ran the steel wire through the holes.


The top layer of feathers were real feathers glued to two pieces of felt in the letter "P" shape. I attached the two pieces to a strip of 4-way stretch fabric. I wanted the stretch fabric along the top of the aluminum bars. So when the wings opened and closed the fabric would stretch with the fabric. Under the felt pieces I attached strings on both side so I could tie down the felt to the wings. That way I could take the top layer on and off incase of repairs. Once I had the felt base I glued down the feather to the felt top layer.


I base colored all the feathers (foam & real) with brown spray paint. Finished the final details with an airbrush gun.


BODY SUIT



 

The Final Result!



 
320 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
IMG_6798.PNG

Get Geeky with Brittany

Submit below to be featured on the website.

Please make sure to include all credits. (your social media, and photographers).

Success! Message received.

Check out #GeekinCosplay Share page! 

Wanna be featured? Tag ME! I love seeing all you amazing Cosplayers!

IMG_6798.PNG
bottom of page